New Team Members for the WR Program Task Force!

Shipmates,

It is my great pleasure to introduce the two new members of the Western Region Program Task Force. Please join me in welcoming aboard Larry Richardson and Sean Weller!

Larry Richardson, Kauai

sea scouts headshot2As a youth I was a member of the Sea Scout Ship Albatross (Ship 72, Martinez, CA) I aged out, but returned to the Albatross as an Adult leader when my son, Max, was finally old enough to join. I ended up moving to the beautiful island of Kauai in Hawaii and in 2009, Max and I co-founded Sea Scout Ship Decisive.

Today, Decisive is going strong with a very active program and a very dedicated group of youth and adults. We plan on starting another ship here on Kauai this summer. Eventually, we want to start a Regatta here in Hawaii, too.

I’m excited to be part of the Western Region Programming Task Force because I truly believe that Sea Scouting is the best youth program in existence and want to do all I can to grow Sea Scouts, not just in Hawaii, but all across the country.

Sean Weller, Los Angelesphoto

I come from a scouting family. I am a third generation scouter. I first got involved in Tiger Cubs in 1988, and it was here that his scout story begins. I bridged from pack 123 in Panorama City California to troop 18 of North Hollywood where I would go on to earn my Eagle Scout in February of 1996. Not being one to back away from a challenge, I looked for something new to do. During my Eagle Court of Honor, I had a Police Explorer and a Sea Scout as the color guard. The decision of whether to become a Sea Scout or an explorer was a tough one. I joined the Sea Scouts in 1996 with the influence of my father (my father and grandfather were also Sea Scouts). I joined the S.S.S. Islander, Ship 16, out of Marina Del Rey, California.

While a member of the Islander, many special opportunities presented themselves. I was able to take his long cruise with the Sea Wolf, Ship 410 out of Miami, FL sailing around the Florida Keys. I was also a part of the National Jamboree ship in 2001 where I served as Boatswains Mate. In May of 2001, my ultimate goal of earning his Quartermaster came true. After 5 years of hard work, I was able to call himself one of the few and the proud. I have been floating in and out of the Sea Scout program for the last few years, but I am excited to get back into the program area of things and help where I can. As a member of the new Western Region Program Task Force, my goal is to help lay out a way for Scouts to get the most out of their time and effort. I looks forward to this new challenge!

Still looking for members!

The WR Program Task Force is still in search of a few more members. If you or anyone you know would be interested in helping develop material and program options for the Sea Scouts of the Western Region please contact me at WesternRegionVCProg@Gmail.Com for more information. While we are open to Sea Scouts from anywhere in the Western Region we are looking for individuals from Colorado, Arizona, Nevada, or Utah in particular. We want to round out our Team’s experience by engaging Sea Scouts who are involved in programs that don’t focus on coastal activity.
V/R

K.Trujillo

Vice Commodore of Program

Western Region Sea Scout Committee

Leave a Reply

