Appointment of New Western Region Vice Commodore of Program and Task Force

Prog TF EmblemOn behalf of the Western Region President, Regional Director, and Commissioner, I am very happy to announce the appointment of Kevin Trujillo (Sea Scout Ship Makai, Alameda) as the new WR Vice Commodore of Program.

Kevin is a dynamic volunteer with an amazing ability to develop training material for Sea Scouts. Kevin will be leading a task force of volunteers from around the Western Region to create supplemental program aids for new Sea Scout Ships or Ships looking to try new activities.

Please welcome aboard Kevin and the new team.

Joshua Gilliland

Western Region Commodore

National Sea Scout Committee

Let’s meet the Program Task Force team!

Erin Waggoner, Los Angeles

Erin Waggoner_Sea Scout headshotAs a member of MSS Morning Star (Sherman Oaks, CA) as a teen, I enjoyed the unique experiences, leadership opportunities, and maritime activities available through the Sea Scout program. Opportunities to sail on tall ships, participate in regattas, earn rank advancement, and hold youth leadership positions helped define her high school years. After college, I knew it was time to give back to the program that brought her so much joy and growth.

Now, with more than a decade of experience as an adult in the program, I am excited to bring my unique perspective to this program team. I hope this team will help all Sea Scout youth in the Western Region enjoy the fullness of the program by providing new tools and fresh ideas for their skippers, mates, and volunteers to utilize. Let’s do this!

Dan Leach, Seattle

Dan Leach

“After serving a stint as Den Leader, Cub Master, and Scout Master while my own son was in Boy Scouts earning his Eagle I thought I was out of it. That was until someone said, “Hey, you’ve been a sailor all your life, went to school to study Marine Carpentry, worked professionally restoring historic wooden boats. The Sea Scouts in Seattle sure could use some help with an historic ship.”

What does a Scout leader say when someone asks for help? You all know the answer. Today I serve as the Committee Chair for the Sea Scout Ship Yankee Clipper, a unit first charted in 1930. Not leaving well enough alone, I’m also a Vice Commodore for the Chief Seattle Council fleet. From that perch I see well run ships, and others that struggle.

I want to work with the Western Region Program Task Force to find ways to make it easier for all ships to help youth advance and grow Sea Scouting.”

Kevin Trujillo, S.F. Bay Area

KTrujillo“I started in Scouting as a Tiger Cub and haven’t looked back. After growing through the years in Cub Scouts and a few years in Boy Scouts I was finally able to join the Makai. Adventure filled weekends and summers made a lasting impact on my life to such a degree that I wanted to come back and help provide that opportunity to others.

I returned to the Makai in 2009 as a Mate and tackled our advancement, operations, and administrative process. Over the next several years the Ship grew, the Scouts grew, and our adult leaders grew. No individual part of that could have been as successful without the others.

In late 2014 my career changed from technical operations to technical operations training. This shift in my professional life has provided new tools, perspectives, and methods to help my Ship better engage program and advancement. My goal as part of the Western Region Program Task Force is to help promote existing best practices for advancement and program as well as develop new ideas and methods that all Ships can use. I see an opportunity for Sea Scout adult leaders to engage a facilitation method of training rather than a presentation method. This will provide the Scouts a way to be more involved with their learning and invested in the skills we are trying to help them develop.”

Leave a Reply

